Tag Archives: Scots Poetry

Scots Poetry Assembly 14.2.20

Today in assembly, we celebrated our Scots Poetry Competition work with certificates being presented to first, second and third place finalists. The first place winners then entertained the whole school with a recitation of their chosen poems. Today, also saw the visit of our guests from Dalbeattie Burns Club who judged not only the Primary 7 pupils who recited an excerpt from Robert Burns’ Tam O’ Shanter but also the art work, which depicted a scene from the same poem.

The results were: Primary 1: First – Corey Canochan;  Second- Henry Hicks;  Third- Sophie Geddes ;  Primary 1/2: First- Mollie Watson;   Second- Finlay Bell;  Third Equal:  Lexie Anderson and Evie McGougan;   Primary 2/3: First Equal- Jack Little and Amalie Wykes;  Second- Aidan Galbraith; Third Equal- Elise Wixon and Reuben Benson;   Primary 3: First- Lucy Johnstone;  Second- Katie Dickie; Third Equal- Rebecca Hird and Oliver Bonnar;   Primary 3/4: First- Anaya Nerestan;   Second- Isla Smith;  Third Equal-  Rory McCormick and Lucy Bell;  Primary 4/5: First- Ava Drummond;  Second Equal- Fern Lundy and Sam Donnelly; Third Equal- Ailsa Ferguson and Owen O’Dornan;    Primary 5: First- Chloe Campbell;    Second- Struan Caldow;  Third Equal- Hayden Berry and Elsie Gibbs-Brown;  Primary 6: First- Fabio Murray-Sanchez;     Second Jack Johnstone;   Third- Owen Bryson;    Primary 6/7 (photo to follow) : First- Eve McCall;  Second Equal- Liam Bourhill and Laith Atkinson Deacon;   Primary 7 Poetry Recitation of Tam O’ Shanter: First- Maddison McMurtrie;     Second- Thomas Jardine;  Third- Jessica Davidson; Primary 7 Poetry Art Work of Tam O’ Shanter: First- Rhys Gaffney;  Second- Carrie Davidson; Third- Amber Latimer.

Also in our assembly, Primary 4/5 drew the raffle for the completed Titanic Quizzes. The winner, receiving £10 was Lucy Simpson.  Our Primary 5 class was awarded with the Wow tracker Active travel to School Award. Finally, Roman Bond and Chloe Campbell reminded us all that the first day back after the February holiday (Monday 24th) will be Fairtrade Snack day with biscuits (shortbread with chocolate and jelly bean) costing 60p and bananas 40p. Pupils can buy two items each. All products used carry the Fairtrade logo. Proceeds from the snack will go to the Fairtrade foundation, in keeping with our targets to retain our ‘Fair Achiever School’ status.



Head Teacher’s Awards and P7 Burns Winners

Here are today’s Award Winners. Also at Assembly, we celebrated the achievement of the Primary 7 Burns Club winners. We had recitations from Katie Mein and Joy McCall who were first and second places in the poetry section. Ruari Webster was in 3rd place. We also appreciated the art work from Willow Caldow, Kerri O Dornan and Myah Forster who came 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the art competition to depict a scene from Tam O Shanter. A group of ladies were also recognised for their achievement in coming third in a walking competition in which there were 400 entries. Well done to all!

Scots Poetry and Head Teacher Award Winners

Today in assembly, not only did we have more deserving  Head Teacher’s Award Winners but we also celebrated the success of our Scots poetry finalists. In Primary 1-2, the runners up were Sophie Pennell, Evie McGougan, Cameron Hitchell, Aiden Edgar, Lucas Tattersfield, Katie Dickie, Jessica Boynton and Lucy Johnstone. The winners were Reuben Benson, Lucy Smith and Rory McCormick.In Primary 3-7, the runners up were Anaya Nerestan, Ailsa Ferguson, Fern Lundy, Elsie Gibbs-Brown, Daisy-May Gilmour, Ava Drummond,  Jasmine Wixon,  Liam Bourhill, Laith Atkinson Deacon, Fabio Murray-Sanchez, Thomas Jardine and Fraser Campbell. The winners were Lucy Bell, Sam Donnelly, Chloe Campbell, Jack Johnstone, Grace Hurley and Olive Lyons. The recent success at curling for Logan Carson was also highlighted. The Rev Fiona Wilson was also present.