Category Archives: confident individuals

Head Teacher’s Awards

Today, on the last day of term we were pleased to present Head Teacher’s Awards to more successful role models and successful learners. Well done all! Two children, Sofia and Leah were also recognised for their effort in fundraising for our sponsored walk. The school has now raised over £2400 which is a super amount and a significant amount of this was raised by these two girls.  However, our thanks go to all our young people  who worked so hard to help raise this excellent amount, which will help with future school trips and other resources. Many children were also recognised for their participation in a  recent Sumdog competition.

Ancient History Club

On Saturday 28th September, the history club visited Tongland Abbey Excavation site. We learned lots of interesting things about the founding of the abbey by Alan, Lord of Galloway and his links to the Magna Carta signing in 1215. We now understand much more about how archaeological investigations take place. We are very grateful to Dr David Devereux and Mr Donald Henry for giving us tours of both the excavation site and the two later built parish churches. More detail about what we learned will be included in our published findings at the end of the year!

Eco and Pupil Council Committees

Today our new Eco and School Council committees were formed. They are:

Eco Committee

Primary 1: Rose Johnston

Primary 1 /2: Isla Tattersfield

Primary 2/ 3: Kai Hill

Primary 3: Leo Cooper-Rogers

Primary 3/ 4: Freya MacIntosh

Primary 5 /6: Roman Bond

Primary 5: Chloe Campbell

Primary 6: Noah Black

Primary P6 /7: Archie Gilmour

Primary 7: Lewis Brotherston


School Pupil Council:

Primary 1: Henry Hicks

Primary 1 /2: McKenzie Forster

Primary 2/ 3: Lucy Smith

Primary 3: Ben Clark and Evan Kirkpatrick

Primary 3/ 4: Lucas Tattersfield

Primary 5 /6: Bonnie McGlashan

Primary 5: Maisy Pipe

Primary 6: Jamie Robson

Primary P6 /7: Liam Bourhill

Primary 7: Daividh Valentine


End of Term Assembly 2019

Dalbeattie Primary has just held another successful end of term assembly and awards. Prizes and awards were presented as follows:

Alistair Gourlay Art Prize-Winner was Evie McGougan. Runners up were Elise Wixon, Dylan Slack, Kai Hill, Darcey Frew, Isla Tattersfield, Ebony McMorran

Babsie Caig Primary 7 Role Model– Louise Kelting

Jenny Corrie Poetry Award- Grace Hurley

History Cup- Lily Davidson

Alan Younger Art Trophy- Amber Latimer

Lions Club Citizenship Prize- Winner was Katie Mein. Runners up were Emma Newbould, Anne Keeley, Kerri O’ Dornan, Jessica Bowden and Cara Houston.

Janice Jamieson Reading Award-Winner was Jennifer Taylor. Runners up were Keira Johnston, Isaac Gibbs Brown, Joy McCall and Samuel Havler.

Mc Shane Award for Effort- Evie Smallwood

Girls 300m Winner- Jennifer Taylor

Boys 300m Winner-Thomas Brown

Girls Champion Cup- Jennifer Taylor

Boys Champion Cup-Thomas Brown

The Taylor Shield for Best Sports House Team was won by Craignair and the House Points Trophy was won by Screel.

In addition to these awards, certificates and prizes were also presented to William Heughan Citizenship Prize winners: Elise Wixon, Amalie Wykes, Lucy Smith, Lexie Anderson, Jasmine Wixon, Robbie Wykes, Ruari Webster, Jennifer Taylor, Reece Latimer, Logan Carson, Jessica Bowden. The following also received certificates: Jude Mouat, Connor Hitchell, Cameron Hitchell, Ella Blaikie, Fallon McGimpsey, Rebecca Hird, Jessica Boynton,  Rory McCormick, Ebony McMorran, Katie Harper, Freya MacIntosh, Abigail Houston, Aoife Tallontire, Eilidh Tallontire, Fabio Murray Sanchez, Blair Kalotka, Amber Latimer, , Katie Mein, Emma Harper, Finlay Burns, Megan Oswald, Grace Hurley, Carrie Davidson.

Also presented later in the day were framed pictures to keep for Jennifer Taylor and Ebony McMorran, who had previously won the Library Mascot competition. These designs have now been enhanced using graphics and copies have been framed to display in school. The images, saved as jpegs, can now be used in the future on library certificates or prizes.

We were, however, sorry to be saying goodbye to  Miss Thomson, Miss Wilson and Miss Dalton.