Our Learning Journey

What is the curriculum?

Curriculum for Excellence is Scotland’s curriculum for children and young people aged 3-18. It’s an approach designed to provide young people with the knowledge, skills and attributes they need for learning, life and work in the 21st century.
It aims to enable every child or young person to be a:
  • Successful learner
  • Confident individual
  • Responsible citizen
  • Effective contributor.

Stages and Levels

The curriculum is broken into two broad stages:

  • a broad general education, providing a rounded education from the early years until the end of S3
  • a senior phase, which will include studying for qualifications (from S4-S6).

The broad general education is divided into five curriculum levels (Early, First, Second, Third and Fourth) across eight curriculum areas.

Curriculum Levels

​​​There are five curriculum levels – Early, First, Second, Third and Fourth – in the broad general education (from early years to the end of S3).Diagram showing the stages of Curriculum for Excellence from Early level (Age 3/Primary 1) to the Senior phase (S4-S6)This diagram shows the five curriculum levels with progression to the senior phase (S4-S6).

Early level: Age 3 to P1
First level: P2, P3, P4
Second level: P5, P6, P7
Third/Fourth level: S1, S2, S3
Senior phase: S4, S5, S6

Our School Values: Confidence, Honesty, Respect, Responsibility and Kindness

Report a Glow concern
Cookie policy  Privacy policy

Glow Blogs uses cookies to enhance your experience on our service. By using this service or closing this message you consent to our use of those cookies. Please read our Cookie Policy.