Our Curriculum

Curriculum for Excellence is intended to help children and young people gain the knowledge, skills and attributes needed for life, including skills for learning, life and work.

Here at Newark Primary we strive to help children  develop the 4 capacities of the curriculum in order to become:

  • Successful learners
  • Confident individuals
  • Responsible citizens and
  • Effective contributors

The Curriculum is divided into 8 curricular areas. All of our lessons and learning activities are planned appropriately and  ensure that children are given a variety of opportunities and experiences across all 8 areas.  The areas are indicated below:

  • Expressive arts
  • Health and wellbeing
  • Languages (including Modern Languages)
  • Mathematics
  • Religious and moral education
  • Sciences
  • Social studies
  • Technologies.

Literacy, numeracy and health and wellbeing are highlighted as they are recognised as being particularly important.

For more information and images on a particular curricular area at Newark Primary, select the area from the drop down box in the ‘our learning journey’ tab.

You can also click the link below to explore further.

Link to Curriculum for Excellence Information


Inverclyde Council

Report a Glow concern
Cookie policy  Privacy policy

Glow Blogs uses cookies to enhance your experience on our service. By using this service or closing this message you consent to our use of those cookies. Please read our Cookie Policy.