What is the SCQF?  

The Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework is the national qualifications framework for Scotland. 

It promotes lifelong learning, with the aim being to include all qualifications and assessed learning in Scotland so that learners can identify their current position on the SCQF and plan their future learning.

  • The SCQF measures qualifications and learning by levels and credit points.
  • The SCQF has 12 levels, as the levels increase from 1 to 12, the learning involved becomes more challenging.
  • The number of points demonstrates the length of time it takes to complete.
  • One SCQF point represents 10 hours of learning time.

View the framework below.

A timeline of qualifications in Scotland and their comparative SCQF levels.

For more information on the SCQF, please visit their website here.

Support for Parents and Carers

or view their guide for Parents and Carers:

Guide for Parents and Carers


Report a Glow concern
Cookie policy  Privacy policy

Glow Blogs uses cookies to enhance your experience on our service. By using this service or closing this message you consent to our use of those cookies. Please read our Cookie Policy.