Curriculum for Excellence

Curriculum for Excellence aims to equip children with the skills, confidence and knowledge needed to succeed in life.


‘The world is changing fast, we are preparing our learners for jobs that don’t exist , use technology that hasn’t been invented and to solve problems that we can’t imagine yet’ (Education Scotland, 2010)


There are eight curricular areas:

  • Expressive arts
  • Health and wellbeing
  • Languages (including English, Gaidhlig, Gaelic learners and modern languages)
  • Mathematics
  • Religious and moral education
  • Sciences
  • Social studies
  • Technologies

These are taught through the four contexts of learning:

  • Curriculum areas and subjects
  • Interdisciplinary learning (Topics where we link in three  or more curricular areas)
  • Ethos and life of the school (ChangeMakers, Clubs, School Captains etc)
  • Opportunities for personal achievement. (Sharing achievements at assembly and through Seesaw, personal targets etc)

Teachers plan for lessons to be challenging and to be relevant to the children. It is also important that children have the opportunity to apply their knowledge and understanding in different contexts.

Levels with the Curriculum 






This diagram shows a broad guide to how the curriculum is split into different levels. It is very important to us that all children work at their own pace and that their learning is pitched to the level that they are personally working within.

Active Learning 

We aim for all of our learning to be exciting and relevant to our children. Active learning can be going on school trips and outdoor learning however active learning is also teaching our children to be inquisitive, to problem solve, to research and to work together rather than being fed information.