Our Learning Journey

The Curriculum for Excellence (CfE) is the national curriculum used from nursery to secondary school. It was implemented in 2010.

It comprises a broad general education up to the end of S3 (third year in secondary) followed by a senior phase of learning from S4 to S6. Emphasis is placed on inter-disciplinary learning, skills development and encouraging personal achievement.

CfE is intended to foster four capacities in all young people:

  1. successful learners
  2. confident individuals
  3. responsible citizens
  4. effective contributors

Education Scotland oversee the implementation of the curriculum.

This guide to Curriculum for Excellence provides further details:


Every school in Scotland creates a School Improvement Plan. This is based on the National Improvement Framework and Improvement Plan for Scottish education and is designed to help deliver the twin aims of excellence and equity in education.

Six drivers of improvement have been identified in the framework The drivers are all equally important. The links and connections across these key areas are essential to enabling continuous improvement and minimising unintended consequences.

The key drivers of improvement are:

  1. school leadership
  2. teacher professionalism
  3. parental engagement
  4. assessment of children’s progress
  5. school improvement
  6. performance information

Inverclyde site

Report a Glow concern
Cookie policy  Privacy policy

Glow Blogs uses cookies to enhance your experience on our service. By using this service or closing this message you consent to our use of those cookies. Please read our Cookie Policy.