Braidhurst Library

Reading Championship 2019

Our reading champions for school session 2018-19 were:

Michael McIlvaney – 1A, Christopher Jordan – 1L, Amy McCoull – 1L, Briana McLeod – 1L, Lucie Macis – 1L, Mikey Booth – 1M, Alex Crawford – 1M, Harrison Howe – 1M, Mollie Nicholson – 1M, Jamie Scallan – 1M, Zakk Crawford – 1R, Amy Crockett – 1R, Abigail Lees – 1R, Rachel Meechan – 1R, Liam Ross – 1R, Naomi Tong – 1R, Lee Hemmings – 2A, Aiden McManus – 2A, Jack Morris – 2A, Jade Brennan – 2L, Arista Ghai – 2L, Thomas Hogg – 2L, Nikol Puskacova – 2L, Jay Allan – 2M, Skye Bailey – 2M, Paige Carty – 2M, Leigha Dobbins – 2M, Emily Dougan – 2M, Rachael Keegans – 2M, Lucy Lawrence – 2M, Gerry Masson – 2M, Connor Richards – 2M, Katie Wright – 2M, Caleb Wright – 2R, and Craig Young – 2R.

This year’s winner of the ‘Eileen McCluskey Library Award’ for outstanding commitment to and passion for personal reading.


Well done to the pupils in S1-S2 who made an excellent effort with their personal reading. Once again Braidhurst is proving that young people are reading for pleasure.

In recognition of their tremendous commitment to personal reading our champions received several rewards at the end of term – an author visit from Cathy Forde, a copy of her novel ‘Fatboy Swim’, and a movie and munchie box event where pupils watched ‘Mortal Engines’ and enjoyed a selection of food provided by the school canteen. These rewards were made possible by the Pupil Equity Fund in its drive to ensure all pupils have access to books, encouraged to read, and expand their imaginations, regardless of their background.

The Reading Championship begins again in August so keep reading and who knows where it could lead.

Report a Glow concern
Cookie policy  Privacy policy

Glow Blogs uses cookies to enhance your experience on our service. By using this service or closing this message you consent to our use of those cookies. Please read our Cookie Policy.