Our Curriculum

S1-3: Broad General Education (BGE)

Our S1-3 students continue with the Broad General Education that they began in Primary School. This covers eight curricular areas:

  • English
  • Expressive Arts (including Art, Drama, Music)
  • European Languages (Spanish, French)
  • Health & Wellbeing (Personal & Social Education (PSE), Physical Education (PE), Home Economics
  • Maths
  • Sciences
  • Social Subjects (including Geography, History, Modern Studies, Religious & Moral Education (RME))
  • Technologies (including ICT, Technology)

Our curriculum aims to develop students’ knowledge, skills and attributes. The content of courses is informed by national Experiences and Outcomes. Assessment of outcomes is informed by national benchmarks.

To keep track of students’ learning in each of the curricular areas, we think about their progress in terms of five Levels. In general, students work to achieve the Early, First and Second Levels in Primary school; in Secondary school, they are working to achieve the Third and Fourth Levels.

Assessment in S1-3 is designed by teachers in our school. We use this to collect evidence of each student’s progress towards achieving a curriculum Level. Different students progress through the curriculum at different rates, but as a general guide it is expected that students should be:

  • achieving the Second Level by the end of Primary 7, meaning that they are starting to work at the Third Level in S1;
  • achieving the Third Level by the end of S3, but many will achieve this Level before that point, meaning that they will be working at the Fourth Level.

A student’s curriculum includes learning opportunities beyond traditional subject areas. e.g. via clubs, sports, school shows and performances, assemblies,  wider achievement awards such as Duke of Edinburgh.

Towards the end of S2, students begin to personalise their curriculum by choosing nine subjects to study in S3.Choices must include at least one subject from each curricular area.

Towards the end of S3, students personalise their curriculum further as they prepare for the Senior Phase of their education. They usually choose seven course to study in the Senior Phase. These courses are called “Nationals” and are offered at different levels e.g. National 3, National 4, National 5.

S4-6: Senior Phase

The Senior Phase is the stage of the curriculum where students work to achieve national qualifications. Usually, these qualifications are achieved by studying Scottish Qualification Award (SQA) courses. A range of different levels of qualification are available, including National 3, National 4, National 5, Higher, Advanced Higher. Details about the different levels offered can be found at the Scottish Credit & Qualifications Framework website.

Beyond SQA courses, a student’s curriculum in the Senior Phase includes PE, PSE and RME, along with wider achievement opportunities e.g. through work placements, volunteering, committees and wider achievement awards.

Report a Glow concern
Cookie policy  Privacy policy

Glow Blogs uses cookies to enhance your experience on our service. By using this service or closing this message you consent to our use of those cookies. Please read our Cookie Policy.