P6 & P7 School Camp 2019

Dear Parents/Carers

Thanks to those of you who attended our School Camp Information Evenings last night. For those of you who couldn’t make it along, here are the presentations for P6 Dalguise and P7 Ford Castle:

P6 Dalguise https://glowscotland-my.sharepoint.com/:p:/g/personal/wlewan_logan_glow_sch_uk/EcLjOFz6HyBHp0Jo-E2AtVcBvUyx8T6uOEmF5ockQIBE1A?e=ushZUd

P7 Ford Castle – https://glowscotland-my.sharepoint.com/:p:/g/personal/wlewan_logan_glow_sch_uk/EbTMoOYvrXRMqYnxIsjpRSEBA_90ST3AB01TdzUEeWvIcQ?e=1UMSah

Kind regards

Mr. Logan

Football Team News

Our Primary 6 and 7 school footballers are continuing to train hard ahead of their upcoming league meetings and cluster tournaments. We are currently still training indoors on Mondays from 3.15-4.15pm but will be returning outside on Monday 5th March, at which point both P6 and P7 will train together again. Any P6 and P7 boys and girls are more than welcome to attend, just let Mr. Logan know if you would like to join.

Here are some important dates for the footballing family calendars:

  • Monday 12th February – HOLIDAY
  • Monday 19th February – Football league meeting (2), letters to follow
  • Monday 26th February – P6 training (indoors)
  • Monday 5th March – P6 and P7 training (outdoors)
  • Monday 12th March – Football league meeting (3), letters to follow
  • Monday 19th March – P6 and P7 training (outdoors)
  • Monday 26th March – HOLIDAY
  • Monday 2nd April – HOLIDAY
  • Monday 9th April – Football league meeting (4), letters to follow
  • Monday 16th April – NO TRAINING
  • Monday 23rd April – P6 and P7 training (outdoors)
  • Monday 30th April –  P6 and P7 training (outdoors)
  • Monday 7th May – HOLIDAY
  • Monday 14th May –  P6 and P7 training (outdoors)
  • Monday 21st May –  P6 and P7 training (outdoors)
  • Monday 28th May –  P6 and P7 training (outdoors)
  • Monday 4th June – NO TRAINING (P7 Camp)
  • Monday 11th June –  P6 and P7 training (outdoors)
  • Monday 18th June –  P6 and P7 training (outdoors)
  • Monday 25th June – End of year awards ceremony in P7b’s classroom

Mr. Logan 

After School Football

Quick reminder that tomorrow’s football training session will be for P7 only with next week’s session for P6. See below for upcoming sessions and league meeting dates:

  • Monday 22nd January – P7
  • Monday 29th January – P6
  • Monday 5th February – P7
  • Monday 19th February – League meeting 2 @ Xcite (P7)
  • Monday 26th February – P6
  • Monday 5th March – P6 and P7
  • Monday 12th March – League meeting 3 @ Xcite (P7)
  • Monday 19th March – P6 and P7

    Kind regards

    Mr. Logan

Primary 6B

A busy week in Primary 6B.

We have continued to explore shape, looking this week at 3D shapes and their properties. We have discussed the language used by mathematicians and found the names for some unusual 3D shapes.

In literacy, we have looked at Diary writing, using one of the characters from our class novel ‘Wonder’, as the author of the diary.

Primary 6 Visit to the Book Festival

Primary 6 had a ‘monstrous’ visit to Edinburgh Book Festival on Thursday.

They met with Dave Rudden (author of Knights of the Borrowed Dark) and Rupert Wallis (author of The Boy with One Name).

Dave and Rupert shared their books with us and then discussed how they created monsters for their stories.

As an audience, we helped to create monsters, which Dave sketched for us.

They also answered questions about their jobs and books.

We will use this as a stimulus for our storywriting next week

.

Visitors to Primary 6!!

This afternoon, Mrs Kerr’s daughter and her friend came into school and told us all about their upcoming trip to Cambodia, where they are going to teach children English. They told us why they’ve volunteered to go and a bit about the school and children they will be working with. We are hoping to connect with them while they are there.

Cracking Easter

We had a fantastic time at St Michael’s Church yesterday, where Russell and lots of lovely volunteers helped us to learn about Easter and the reasons behind some of the traditions and celebrations that Christians have.