Holy Cross Primary

Curriculum for Excellence

What is Curriculum for Excellence?

Curriculum for Excellence aims to achieve a transformation in education in Scotland by providing an improved, more flexible and enriched curriculum for all children and young people from 3 – 18. The curriculum includes all of the experiences which are planned for children and young people through their education, wherever they are being educated. All schools and nurseries in North Lanarkshire are working hard to raise standards so that children and young people will develop all of the skills necessary to continue to be successful when leaving school and entering the world of higher education, training or work.

Curriculum for Excellence is underpinned by the values inscribed on the mace of the Scottish Parliament – wisdom, justice, compassion and integrity.  The purpose of Curriculum for Excellence is encapsulated in the four capacities – to enable each child or young person to be a successful learner, a confident individual, a responsible citizen and an effective contributor.

cfe  cfe2

What are the curriculum areas in Curriculum for Excellence?

There are eight curriculum areas:

Expressive Arts                                    Religious and Moral Education

Health & Well Being                            Sciences

Languages (Literacy)                           Social Studies

Mathematics (Numeracy)                  Technologies

Importantly, literacy and numeracy are given added importance because these skills are so vital in everyday life. All teachers will have responsibility to teach literacy and numeracy.


Learning is divided into two phases

The Broad Education is from nursery to the end of Secondary School Year 3.  Learning is divided into levels.  These levels will replace the 5 – 14 levels that you are familiar with.

The new levels are, as follows:

Early                      the pre-school years and Primary 1 or later for some children.

First                       to the end of Primary 4, but earlier or later for some children.

Second                  to the end of Primary 7, but earlier or later for some.

Third & Fourth  Secondary 1 to Secondary 3, but earlier for some. The fourth level broadly       equates to SCQF Level 4.

Senior Phase is from Secondary School Year 4 and beyond. 

Senior                  Secondary 4 – Secondary 6 and college or other means of study.





Report a Glow concern  Cookie policy  Privacy policy

Glow Blogs uses cookies to enhance your experience on our service. By using this service or closing this message you consent to our use of those cookies. Please read our Cookie Policy.