The Pope Benedict XVI Caritas Award

What is the Caritas Award?

The “Caritas Award” is an exciting and new way for you to record and share your learning about, and living of, your faith. It asks you to take up the invitation of God’s friendship by offering your talents in the service of others.

The award asks you to use your faith learning as a starting point for further faith reflection, leading to actions which show your faith witness.

Participants in the Caritas Award will be supported in deciding how you can develop and use your gifts in a way that witnesses to God’s love (“Caritas”) in your community.

Who can do it?

Any pupil in their final year of school can participate in the Caritas Award. Parishes may nominate young people for the award, where no Catholic education is available to do so.

The award is designed to be inclusive of all young people and is open to pupils of all faiths denominations and backgrounds. Pupils can choose how they would like to record and share their learning, reflection and witness from a number of formats.

Pupils studying all levels will be able to achieve the requirements of the award.

What is in it for me?

You might consider how participating in the Pope Benedict XVI Caritas Award will help you develop key skills, motivate you to work as part of a team and improve your C.V. Or how you will make new friends, set yourself challenges and improve your confidence. Or how you will be supported with learning resources and help from teachers.

However, when you consider the words of the Holy Father you will realise that there are far greater benefits than these. In sharing ‘Caritas’ (love) with others, you will “discover the joy of entering into Christ’s being for others”


Inverclyde Council

Report a Glow concern
Cookie policy  Privacy policy

Glow Blogs uses cookies to enhance your experience on our service. By using this service or closing this message you consent to our use of those cookies. Please read our Cookie Policy.