Curriculum for Excellence has been introduced to raise standards of learning and teaching for all 3 to 18 year olds. It aims to help prepare children and young people with the knowledge and skills they need in a fast changing world.

Curriculum Levels
The table below is a general guide to the five curriculum levels with progression to qualifications. The framework is designed to be flexible to permit careful planning for those with additional support needs, including those who have a learning difficulty and those who are particularly able or talented.


Level Stage
Early The pre-school years and P1, or later for some.
First To the end of P4, but earlier or later for some.
Second To the end of P7, but earlier or later for some.
Third and Fourth S1 to S3, but earlier for some.
Senior Phase S4 to S6, and college or other means of study.


The curriculum is no longer only defined by what goes on in the classroom but is now everything that is planned in school and out of school to allow young people to learn. Some of the ways that children’s learning is being assessed is different. This aims to raise standards of achievement, improve learning experiences and develop skills for learning, life and work.

For further information please visit Parentzone

Curriculum for Excellence website