About CfE


Curriculum for Excellence aims to achieve a transformation in education in Scotland by providing an improved, more flexible and enriched curriculum for all children and young people from 3 – 18. The curriculum includes all of the experiences which are planned for children and young people through their education, wherever they are being educated.

All schools and nurseries in North Lanarkshire are working hard to raise standards so that children and young people will develop all of the skills necessary to continue to be successful when leaving school and entering the world of higher education, training or work.

 Curriculum for Excellence is underpinned by the values inscribed on the mace of the Scottish Parliament – wisdom, justice, compassion and integrity.

The purpose of Curriculum for Excellence is encapsulated in the four capacities – to enable each child or young person to be a successful learner, a confident individual, a responsible citizen and an effective contributor.

What are the Curriculum areas in Curriculum for Excellence? There are eight curriculum areas:-

Expressive Arts Religious and Moral Education Health and Well Being Sciences
Languages (Literacy) Social Studies Mathematics (Numeracy) Technologies

Importantly, literacy and numeracy are given added importance because these skills are so vital in

everyday life. All teachers will have responsibility to teach literacy and numeracy.

The opportunities for pupils to develop skills for learning, life and work, including literacy, numeracy and health and wellbeing in and out of the classroom.

The arrangements for how pupils will be given choices in what they learn, how they will be involved in planning what they learn; how the parents will be consulted.

Learning is divided into two phases.

The Broad Education (BGE) is from nursery to the end of Secondary School Year 3. Learning is divided into levels. The new levels are as follows:

LEVEL                                   STAGE

  • Early                               the pre-school years and P1 or later for some
  • First                                to the end of P4 but earlier or later for some
  • Second                          to the end of P7, but earlier or later for some
  • Third and fourth     S1-S3, but earlier for some
  • Senior Phase             S4 – S6 and college or other means of study
Report a Glow concern
Cookie policy  Privacy policy

Glow Blogs uses cookies to enhance your experience on our service. By using this service or closing this message you consent to our use of those cookies. Please read our Cookie Policy.