School Houses and House Captains

School House System

The school operates a House System which helps to unite Giffnock Primary through learning and activities centered around our school values. There are four houses:



New Captains are elected for each new session with pupils organising their own election campaigns, complete with manifestos and a public hustings.

This session the elected Captains are:

Davieland-Burrell: Molly Carlin and Olivia Barnes

Eastwood-Livingstone: Oscar Dickson and Ethan Munro

Mains-Mackintosh: Natalie Belhoul and Phoebe Greenwood

Orchard-Scott: Kate Cochrane and Scott Sinclair

Our House Captains all together with Mr. Lawson

House System

Pupils  earn house tokens throughout the week with the weekly winner announced round the classes on Friday mornings. These tokens can be earned in class and through the wider school. A maximum of 3 tokens can be earned at one time and any staff member can hand them out. Points cannot be taken away once they have been earned.

The house that collects the most house tokens throughout the week now earn 10 minutes extra playtime on a Friday. At the end of the year the winning house will be rewarded with a special event to celebrate their success.

Various House Challenges take place throughout the school session and termly House Meetings, which are led by our Captains, are used to organise these and share other important information.

Our House Challenges are planned and implemented by our Captains and have included, for example House Quizzes, design challenges and sporting events.

Report a Glow concern
Cookie policy  Privacy policy

Glow Blogs uses cookies to enhance your experience on our service. By using this service or closing this message you consent to our use of those cookies. Please read our Cookie Policy.