Types of Qualifications

National Qualifications (Nat 4, Nat 5 etc)

What are National Qualifications?

National Qualifications (NQs) are one of the most important types of qualifications in Scotland. Almost everyone leaving school or college today has one or more NQ.

NQs are taken by students in secondary schools and colleges (and some training centres). They cover subjects to suit everyone’s interests and skills, from Chemistry to Construction, History to Hospitality, and Computing to Care.

The types of NQs available are:

  • National 1 to National 5
  • National Units
  • National Courses
  • Group Awards
  • Highers
  • Advanced Highers
  • Skills for Work
  • Baccalaureates

At Port Glasgow HS, we offer Skills For Work Retail as a Senior Phase option. All pupils are able to access National 1 to 5 qualifications in a range of subjects and according to their current knowledge and skill level in subject areas.  All learners also undertaken National Unit qualifications throughout their main National courses.  We are developing our own campus Advanced Higher programme and are also part of the Inverclyde Consortium where Senior phase pupils are able to access higher level qualifications outwith their own school as necessary, and according to availability and individual attainment.

National Progression Awards

National Progression Awards are aimed at assessing a defined set of skills and knowledge in specialist vocational areas — linking to National Occupational Standards, which are the basis of SVQs. Available at SCQF Levels 2 to 6, NPAs are successfully delivered in partnership between schools, colleges, employers and training providers in a variety of sectors

At Port Glasgow HS, an NPA Award is currently available in Drama and we hope to begin developing further NPA Awards in other subject areas.

What are SQA Awards?

SQA Awards are small, flexible qualifications, suitable for any type of learner. Awards are designed to address and provide proof of specific skills. The awards include:

  • Employability
  • Leadership
  • Volunteering Skills
  • Steps to work
  • Safe Road User
  • Personal Finance

SQA Awards are designed to recognise Wider Achievement and the development of skills which will help learners to succeed in today’s world. Wider Achievement recognises the life and work skills that come from a wide range of activities which can include sport, mentoring, voluntary work or fundraising activities – whether they take place at school, college or elsewhere.

We have a number of SQA Awards from SCQF levels 1 to 6 – all suitable for a broad range of learners.

At Port  Glasgow HS, we offer Leadership and Employability Awards to Senior Pupils to increase their qualification levels and also to widen their skills and knowledge in areas that employers and further/higher education institutions  are aware are important to compliment ‘traditional’ academic subjects.

Inverclyde Council

Report a Glow concern
Cookie policy  Privacy policy

Glow Blogs uses cookies to enhance your experience on our service. By using this service or closing this message you consent to our use of those cookies. Please read our Cookie Policy.