Curriculum for Excellence

Curriculum for Excellence – An  Overview

The curriculum is the totality of experiences which are planned for children and young people throughout their education. It includes the ethos and life of the school as a community; curriculum areas and subjects; interdisciplinary learning; and opportunities for personal achievement. The curriculum in Scottish schools is         Curriculum for Excellence. There are eight areas:

  • Mathematics
  • Language
  • Health and Wellbeing (including physical education)
  • Expressive arts – dance, drama, music and art and design
  • Social studies
  • Sciences
  • Religious and Moral Education
  • Technologies

The purpose of the curriculum is to help children and young people to become:

  • successful learners
  • confident individuals
  • responsible citizens and
  • effective contributors.

The curriculum puts the child at the centre and describes the experiences and outcomes for learning and its progression. It supports learners in developing their values and beliefs and enables them to:

  • achieve the highest possible levels of literacy and numeracy and cognitive skills
  • develop skills for life and work
  • develop knowledge and understanding of society, the world and Scotland’s place in it
  • experience challenge and success so that they can develop well-informed views and act responsibly. It will encourage them to adopt an active and healthy lifestyle.

Curriculum for Excellence can be mapped out in the following way

Report a Glow concern
Cookie policy  Privacy policy

Glow Blogs uses cookies to enhance your experience on our service. By using this service or closing this message you consent to our use of those cookies. Please read our Cookie Policy.