Curriculum Design

The word “curriculum” simply means the courses and subjects taught to children and young people in school. The Scottish Government has designed a new curriculum beginning in the early years and continuing to the end of Secondary school called The Curriculum for Excellence.

The Curriculum for Excellence aims to achieve a transformation in education in Scotland by providing a coherent, more flexible and enriched curriculum underpinned by the values inscribed on the mace of the Scottish Parliament – wisdom, justice, compassion and integrity.

The learning experience should enable each child or young person to become:

  • A successful learner.
  • A confident individual.
  • A responsible citizen.
  • An effective contributor.

Here at Calderwood Lodge we’re adopting the outcomes and approach of the Curriculum for Excellence while still referring to some of the guidance on progression given in its predecessor, the 5-14 Curricular Guidelines. We use a variety of teaching methods to engage the children in their learning and enable them to reach their full potential.

Calderwood Lodge offers a broad and general education covering eight curricular areas:

  • Language and Literacy.
  • Mathematics.
  • Science.
  • Social Studies.
  • Technology.
  • Religious and Moral Education.
  • Expressive Arts.
  • Health and Well-being.

You can find out more about the outcomes and experiences of the new Curriculum for Excellence at the Learning and Teaching Scotland website.

Report a Glow concern
Cookie policy  Privacy policy

Glow Blogs uses cookies to enhance your experience on our service. By using this service or closing this message you consent to our use of those cookies. Please read our Cookie Policy.