St Bernadette's

Newsletters

St. Bernadette’s Primary School

 

St. Bernadette’s Primary School

Term 1 2018

Welcome to St. Bernadette’s Newsletter!

Dear Parents/Guardians,

New Pupils

A very warm welcome to our new P1 pupils and families. I am sure the children will all settle well and quickly. The P7 buddies will help the children to become confident and familiar with the school routines. We also welcome a number of children and their parents to classes throughout the school. I am sure they will all be very happy in St Bernadette’s School.

Dates for Your Diary

Parent Council & Fundraising Group

The Parent Council and Fundraising Group will have their first meeting of the new school year on Tuesday 4th September. All meetings are at 6.00pm in school. All parents are welcome to come along and support these groups. The group meet only 4 times per year and are eager to welcome new parents to attend. The support of the Parent Council is vital to the ongoing success of the school. If you are interested in finding out more please contact me or Mrs McCaveny, the Chair of the Parent Council.

Book Fair

There will be a Book Fair in school in September. This will be a great opportunity for children to buy books which are of interest to them and encourage them to take an interest in reading. The school also benefit from the sale of books by receiving commission on total sales.

P1 Parent Workshop & Prayer Service

The Prayer Service for Primary 1 and their families is on Thursday 13th September at 1.30pm in school followed by curriculum workshops for the parents of P1 (Literacy, Maths and Homework). Primary 1 parents are encouraged to come along to join the children for their Prayer Service and it is expected that all children will have at least one familiar adult in attendance. I hope that you will find the workshop helpful in supporting your children. We look forward to seeing you.

Pupil Committees

All staff have agreed to support pupils in leading a variety of committees again this year allowing every pupil in the school to become a member of one of the following committees;

Pupil Council, JRSO, Global Citizenship, Health, Celebrations of Faith, Community Links, Outdoor Learning, Media, Languages and Enterprise.

As far as possible the children will choose the committee they would like to serve on. In addition we would like a parent or community representative to be involved with each group. Please contact me if you are interested in helping or if you would like any further information.

Parking

Our children’s safety is a top priority and I would request that all parents consider this when parking. Please do not under any circumstances park on or close to the yellow zig zag lines at the front of the school, at the bus bay, or on or near the corner as this is especially hazardous when there are cars parked on either side of the road making it very difficult for children to see whether it is safe to cross the road. I would also like to remind you that the school car park and drive way is for staff use only or for those who have difficulties with mobility. There is ample car parking located beside the playing fields off Salisbury Crescent and a pathway from it to the school.

Football in school

This session we will make use of the grass playing field behind the school for football at lunchtimes for P2-P7 (weather permitting.) No football will be allowed during break or before school in the front playground. Any child who wishes to play football must bring a change of shoes and a pair of trousers to wear over school trousers. These should be placed in a bag with the child’s name and kept in school. No child will be allowed access to the playing field unless they have appropriate clothing. This new arrangement should ease congestion in the playground and help to keep the school clean.

Dogs

I have noticed that there is large amount of dog mess outside the school. As well as being unsightly this can also be hazardous to children’s health. I would be grateful if you could all be vigilant and if anyone witnesses someone allowing their dog to foul without cleaning it up that you challenge them or report them. Thanks.

Holiday Weekend

The school will close at 3pm on Thursday 20th September for the September weekend.

It will re-open on Tuesday 25th September at 9am.

School Improvement

There are four priorities on the School Improvement Plan which was agreed in June 2018. The priorities for this year are:

Improving attainment in literacy with a particular focus on P3.

Improving attainment in Maths and Numeracy with a particular focus on P6.

Improving the Health and Wellbeing of pupils with a particular focus on P4.

Achieving Rights Respecting School Status

After-School Clubs

These will start in due course. Information and permission forms will be issued as soon as possible.

Dates for Your Diary

Saturday 18th August is the Scottish Catholic Education Service Parents’ Annual Gathering in St. Charles’ Church, Paisley.

Primary 5 Swim/Gym Sessions start on Wednesday 22nd August.

The photographer will be in school to take photographs of all the children on Thursday 23rd August. Shirt, tie and best smile please.

There will be a Welcome Mass in school on Thursday 30th August at 11am. All welcome particularly parents of P1 pupils.

Parents’ Appointments will be arranged for Thursday 27th September. These run from 3pm until 8pm. Please contact the school office by 31st August if you would prefer an appointment before or after 5pm. All children should attend the appointment with a parent to discuss progress and target setting.

The SSPCA will visit the school on Monday 1st October and visit all classes.

The Legion of Mary will be in school for a Rosary for Primary 4 – 7 on Wednesday 3rd October.

October break – 15th – 19th.

Parent Council AGM in school Tuesday 23rd October at 6pm.

Primary 1 – 3 Halloween Parade – Friday 26th October 1.15pm.

DATES FOR THE REST OF THE SCHOOL YEAR

All children will attend Mass in Church (weather permitting) on Thursday 1st November.

Monday 19th November is an INSET Day – pupils should not attend.

The Parent Council Fundraising Group will hold their annual Christmas Fayre on Friday 23rd November – information to follow.

Friday 30th November – Interim Reports will be issued.

The Christmas Show will be on the afternoon of Wednesday 12th December and the evening of Thursday 13th December. Tickets will go on sale nearer the time.

The children will go to Hamilton Town Hall for a Pantomime on Tuesday 4th December. The Parent Council Fundraising Group will cover the cost of this.

The Flu Immunisation Team will be in school on Wednesday 12th December – letters will be issued.

School closes at 2.30pm on Friday 21st December and re-opens on Monday 7th January at 9am.

Sacramental Meetings will take place on Tuesday 29th January.

Tuesday 5th February – Primary 7 Parents’ Meeting.

Wednesday 6th March Mass for Ash Wednesday.

Monday 11th and Tuesday 12th February are holidays. Wednesday 13th is an INSET Day – pupils should not attend.

Sunday 17th February – Sacramental Enrolment Mass.

Tuesday 26th February – Parent Council Meeting.

Tuesday 5th March – First Confession for Primary 3.

Thursday 14th March – Parents’ Appointments.

Friday 29th March – school closes for Easter Break and re-opens Monday 15th April.

Easter Weekend – Friday 19th April & Monday 22nd April are holidays.

Wednesday 1st May – Confirmation for Primary 6 & 7.

Monday 6th May – Holiday.

Tuesday 7th May – INSET Day.

Saturday 11th May – Primary 4 will make their First Holy Communion.

Tuesday 14th May – Primary 7 Parents’ Meeting for Kilbowie Field Trip.

Sunday 19th May – Primary 4 First Holy Communion Thanksgiving Mass.

Tuesday 21st May – Parent Council Meeting.

Friday 24th May and Monday 27th May are holidays.

Monday 3rd June – Primary 7 Induction Mass in Our Lady’s High School at 7pm.

Tuesday 4th and Wednesday 5th June – Primary 7 Transition Visits to Our Lady’s High School.

Monday 10th June – Friday 14th June – Kilbowie Week for Primary 7.

Friday 21st June – annual reports issued.

Monday 25th June – Leavers’ Assembly.

Wednesday 26th June – Leavers’ Mass.

School App

The school communicates with parents using St. Bernadette’s App. Please see next page for information on how to download it easily and for free.

The App is intended to improve communication in an ECO friendly way. I sincerely hope as many people as possible use it to allow us to reduce photocopying and paper costs which are around £2000 per year.

The App will be used to give dates of events, update news and send notifications relevant to your child’s class (you must allow this in the App settings). These alerts should replace the need for many of the letters and texts we currently send.

The App costs £300 to be developed and managed on a yearly basis.

I am confident that the App will be helpful for everyone and I would encourage you to download it. I would appreciate any feedback and further ideas for information which could be provided within the App.

If for any reason you do not intend to use the App, please complete the tear-off below and return it to school and paper letters will continue to be issued to you.

Kind Wishes

Mrs. C. Boyle

Headteacher

 

 

Report a Glow concern  Cookie policy  Privacy policy

Glow Blogs uses cookies to enhance your experience on our service. By using this service or closing this message you consent to our use of those cookies. Please read our Cookie Policy.

Close