Oct 262015
 

Jenny cast map 1
This year we are offering the following:
RAISING LITERACY ATTAINMENT THROUGH FILM
GARAGEBAND & I.T. IN THE MUSIC CLASSROOM
TEACHING SCREEN PRINTING
MUSIC & HEALTH AND WELLBEING
GET EXCITED ABOUT SCULPTURE AND 3D

Courses will run from approx 4pm till 6pm latest
Tea and coffee will be available. There are no charges for these courses.
All venues TBC.

Email Fiona Blakey to book a place.
fiona.blakey@ea.argyll-bute.sch.uk

RAISING LITERACY ATTAINMENT THROUGH FILM
Delivered by Alasdair Satchel
Participants will be introduced to a series of tools including the 3Cs (character, colour, camera) and 3Ss (story, setting, sound), which build teachers’ ability to help their learners contextualise and decode film, learning key literacy skills such as inference, deduction and analysis which can be applied to film and other texts. The session includes practical activities such as Sound on/Vision off and Tell Me grids. Each activity is designed to help build on a learner’s comprehension, analytical and writing skills and includes an opportunity for curriculum focused filmmaking and extended writing. Each participant will receive a free downloadable PowerPoint which includes film clips as well the 3Cs and 3Ss dice and worksheet.

Helensburgh Tuesday 3 November
Dunoon Wednesday 4 November
Islay Thursday 5 November
Campbeltown Tuesday 10 November
Rothesay Wednesday 11 November
Lochgilphead Thursday 12 November
Oban Tuesday 17 November
Mull Wednesday 18 November

GARAGEBAND & I.T. IN THE MUSIC CLASSROOM
Delivered by Jenny England
Music is a ‘heard’ art form. We should be using the technology available to us to track progress and develop musical ideas. This session aims to increase your confidence and open the door to the benefits of using technology in a meaningful way to enhance musical learning.
We will explore:
· managing Garageband in a whole class setting;
· how to use technology musically;
· creating a musical composition;
· using technology to support the significant aspects of learning in music.

Helensburgh Monday 23 November
Dunoon Thursday 26 November
Campbeltown Monday 30 November
Lochgilphead Thursday 3 December
Oban Monday 7 December
Mull Tuesday 19 January
Rothesay Thursday 21 January
Islay Tuesday 1 March

TEACHING SCREEN PRINTING
Delivered by Gillian Steele
Screen printing is a fascinating process which may engage and excite those pupils who don’t see themselves as artistic. You will be introduced to the basics of screen printing and how to use printing to fulfill some of the significant aspects of learning within art and design. We will be looking at the history of printing and analysing examples of artworks in order to develop knowledge of subject matter, media and techniques used by artists and designers. There will be a focus on encouraging pupils to give personal opinions about artworks and their own work and ideas. By engaging with screen printing pupils will show increasing understanding of the properties of the medium through the images that they create and the techniques used.
A practical introduction will include:
• creating simple designs;
• step by step processes including resist techniques using a variety of materials to create different effects;
• ideas for using prints as a fundraiser.

Dunoon Tuesday 19 January
Helensburgh Wednesday 20 January
Campbeltown Tuesday 26 January
Islay Wednesday 27 January
Lochgilphead Thursday 28 January
Rothesay Tuesday 16 February
Oban Tuesday 23 February
Mull Wednesday 24 February

MUSIC & HEALTH AND WELLBEING
Delivered by Jenny England, primary music specialist.
“Let Children Teach” Allowing children to direct and plan their own learning in music offers challenges. However, the benefits of this ownership can result in greater connection to meaning, enhanced creativity, and accelerated learning of skills amongst other things.
We will consider:
• when and how to let children lead music sessions;
• facilitating to support creativity AND progression;
• music as a core aspect of wellbeing, and how to promote this;
• practical ideas to support leadership in the music classroom.

Oban Thursday 28 January
Dunoon Thursday 11 February
Campbeltown Thursday 25 February
Rothesay Thursday 3 March
Lochgilphead Monday 7 March
Helensburgh Thursday 10 March
Mull Tuesday 15 March
Islay Tuesday 26 April

GET EXCITED ABOUT SCULPTURE AND 3D
Delivered by CAST
During this session we will show you how to introduce sculpture to your pupils in a way that will enable them to understand the elements involved in producing 3D artwork within the ‘expressive’ element of the art and design curriculum. It will hopefully capture the excitement of creating within this genre and encourage your pupils to develop a curiosity about the arts. They will learn to be inquisitive, persistent, imaginative and disciplined and to work collaboratively following a step by step process to develop and communicate imaginative ideas and reach expressive solutions.
The session will include:
• examining/analysing and responding to/discussing examples of sculpture;
• using visual elements to communicate ideas i.e. likeness and expression;
• introducing and exploring different media including clay and Modroc plaster.

Dunoon Wednesday 4 May
Helensburgh Thursday 5 May
Oban Wednesday 11 May
Mull Thursday 12 May
Campbeltown Tuesday 17 May
Islay Wednesday 18 May
Lochgilphead Thursday 19 May
Rothesay Wednesday 25 May

Email Fiona Blakey to book a place: fiona.blakey@ea.argyll-bute.sch.uk

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

(required)

(required)

Report a Glow concern  Cookie policy  Privacy policy

Glow Blogs uses cookies to enhance your experience on our service. By using this service or closing this message you consent to our use of those cookies. Please read our Cookie Policy.

Close