Records of Brae Public School go back to 1895 and it continued under various Head Teachers until July 1946 when Margaret C Peterson retired after 17 years. Mr A Norman Sutherland took over in August but the school did not become Brae Junior Secondary until 1953. The canteen opened on 27 August 1951 but the H.O.R.S.A. building for the Secondary department was not completed until 5 January 1953 because the building firm of Crangle & Bullock went bankrupt.
The next major change came in 1970 when the 11+ examinations were abolished and all pupils stayed in their district for the first two years of Secondary education. In 1971 the roll of the school went over 100 for the first time and became entitled to a Deputy Headmaster. Mr George P. S. Peterson was appointed. Mr Sutherland retired at summer 1974 and was replaced by Mr. Oliver M. Leask.
During the seventies there was a rapid increase in the school roll as a result of the oil terminal coming to Sullom Voe and a new Primary was built with the official opening on 23 June 1976 with the new Secondary department opening five years later. These are the current buildings that the school occupies.
In 1982/83 the school provided a full range of courses for S3 & S4 keeping all pupils until age 16. The school became Brae Junior High School.
After 14 years in charge Mr. Leask retired and Mossbank man Mr Irvine was appointed and took up his post in August 1988.
In 1993 pupils could stay on for fifth and sixth year and the school became Brae High School, making it unique in Shetland as the only school with pupils from age three in Nursery to eighteen and beyond in S6.