Professional learning

It is important for us as practitioners to keep up to date with what is happening in the STEM landscape.  Within this section we have brought together a selection of reading material that can support you to deepen your professional knowledge and understanding and to help you develop progressive and innovative practice. Here you will find policy documents and reports relating to STEM, Improving Gender Balance and equalities, Digital and Developing the Young Workforce.  You will also find examples of research that demonstrates effective approaches to STEM education.

A professional learning offer from the STEM Education Officers at Education Officers at Education Scotland is available and further details can be found in the section titled STEMedscot professional learning. If you would like to chat with one of the regional STEM Education Officers to discuss a more bespoke STEM professional learning experience, please get in touch by emailing: STEM@educationscotland.gov.scot.

Alternatively you can contact your regional education officer, details below:

Northern Alliance

Janey.Irving@educationscotland.gov.scot

Mark.Irwin@educationscotland.gov.scot

Tayside

Hazel.Gardner@educationscotland.gov.scot

Forth Valley and West Lothian

Mairi.Thomson@educationscotland.gov.scot

West Partnership

Margaret.Craw@educationscotland.gov.scot

South East

Lynn.Yeneka@educationscotland.gov.scot

South West

Lorraine.Ross@educationscotland.gov.scot