The Learner’s Journey

As part of their learning journey, our pupils have a variety of opportunities and experiences. They learn in different contexts so that they acquire skills and positive attitudes as well as progress in their knowledge and understanding of curricular areas. These contexts are described below.

The Four Contexts of the Curriculum

The curriculum is the totality of all that is planned for children throughout their education. Building the Curriculum 3 identifies four contexts for learning:

  • Ethos and life of the school as a community
  • Curriculum areas and subjects
  • Interdisciplinary learning (IDL)
  • Opportunities for personal achievements

The four contexts are intrinsically related in establishing a climate in which all learners can achieve their full potential. The experiences and outcomes, taken as a whole, define the standards and expectations for the entire curriculum. They will be the focus of planning all aspects of learning across all contexts of the curriculum, including opportunities for personal achievement.

Our Curriculum

Literacy and English

Numeracy and Mathematics

Health and Wellbeing




Social Studies

Expressive Arts

Modern Languages


SNSA Assessment

GL Assessment


Report a Glow concern
Cookie policy  Privacy policy

Glow Blogs uses cookies to enhance your experience on our service. By using this service or closing this message you consent to our use of those cookies. Please read our Cookie Policy.