Kilsyth Academy News – 21/08/15



Congratulations to the five pupils who achieved eight A passes in their National 5 examinations – Archie Grant, Holly McArthur, Anne Paterson, Ross Quinn and Jack Rennie. Similarly, congratulations to the five pupils who achieved five A passes at Higher, in S5 – Blair Anderson, Lewis Cameron, Kayley Forsyth, Erin Main and Annie Mason and to the two pupils who achieved three Advanced Highers at grade A – Erika Allen and Kathryn Marshall. These are fantastic achievements from all concerned and are testimony to the hard work that each of these young people put into their studies.

 S1 individual photographs were taken last week and the pupils have been issued with order forms, which should be returned to the school, with full payment, by Wednesday 2nd September.

 The 2015 Yearbook finally arrived, during the summer holiday, and those who ordered a copy can uplift it from Miss Reilly. Thanks go to last year’s Yearbook team for putting it all together.

 Senior pupils are visiting a range of University Open Days, as part of the groundwork to prepare application forms for courses that will begin in the autumn of 2016. Over the next few weeks, the Seniors will be working on Personal Statements, supported by Mrs Kerr and on Monday 31st August, we will be holding a UCAS Information Evening, to provide parents of S5/6 pupils with information about the process of applying for university. This will include details about funding, qualifications etc and we will be having a guest speaker along – Professor Kevin O’Gorman from Heriot Watt University. The evening begins at 7.00 p.m. and we are hoping for a good turnout.

 Congratulations to our initial group of prefects, who received their badges last week. They are:

Blair Anderson (Vice Captain), Angus Buck, Lewis Cameron (Vice Captain), Jack Devlin, Courtney Forsyth (Vice Captain), Kayley Forsyth, Joanna Hay, Rachel Kimmett (Vice Captain), Chloe Laggan, Scott Leslie, Erin Main (Captain), Annie Mason, Connie McFarlane, Kirstin McLaren, Lucy Rutherford, Christopher Smith, Nicola Wilson. A further group of prefects will be appointed in the coming weeks.

 The Parent Council will meet on Thursday 3rd September, at 7.00 p.m., in the school.