In 1814, Forres man Jonathan Anderson, founded Anderson’s Free School on the site of Forres House Community Centre. This became Anderson’s Institute and later Forres Academy. The hall/gymnasium originates from this time. The main teaching block where the classrooms are housed comprises the original Forres Academy building of 1926.
The building was then modernised in 1971 and converted for use to become the primary school that is ‘Anderson’s Primary School’ today.
The school also houses a magnificent bronze plaque recording the generosity of James Dick, the renowned benefactor to all aspects of education in the North East of Scotland and donor of the funds to create the Dick Bequest. Along from the plaque there is displayed a colourful Millennium Tapestry, designed and constructed by the parents and children of the school. Many former pupils return to view their contribution to this artwork again.