Our Curriculum

Our Curriculum

The Curriculum

Curriculum for Excellence (CfE) is bringing learning to life in the way education is delivered for all 3-18 year olds – in nursery, primary, secondary, at college, workplace or community learning. It takes a fresh approach to what, how and where young people learn. It aims to raise standards, improve knowledge and develop skills, closing the gap between the lowest and highest performers. Ultimately it aims to nurture young people as successful learners, confident individuals, effective contributors and responsible citizens.

How does Curriculum for Excellence work?

• The ‘learner journey’ will be joined up from 3-18 to avoid gaps and overlaps in learning and to make the most of achievements outside school.

• Learners will work at a pace that suits, with enough challenge and support to stretch them.

• Lessons will be more engaging, inspiring and relevant to everyday life.

• Teachers will make connections between subjects, helping children make sense of the world.

• Children will learn how to learn and how to use their learning, not just memorise information to pass tests. This will help them adapt in an uncertain future with the ability to think for themselves, make sound judgements, challenge, enquire and find solutions.

• There’s more focus on knowledge and skills – including vital skills: literacy and numeracy, which underpin all learning and are critical in life.

• There are changes to assessment and how progress is reported to give learners, parents and employers better information on potential and achievement.

Curriculum for Excellence is about preparing children to become:

  • Confident Individuals
  • Successful Learners
  • Responsible Citizens
  • Effective Contributors

Curriculum for Excellence provides the framework to young people’s learning so that they can develop in the above mentioned areas. It focuses on planned experiences and outcomes and allows the curriculum to remain under review and be updated as required. The principles of curriculum design are

  • Challenge and enjoyment
  • Breadth
  • Progression
  • Depth
  • Personalisation & Choice
  • Coherence
  • Relevance

Subject Information

The ‘new’ curriculum has been organised into 8 areas:

  • Languages and Literacy
  • Mathematics and Numeracy
  • Health and Well Being
  • Sciences
  • Social Studies
  • Expressive Arts
  • Technologies
  • Religious and Moral Education

We use lots of fresh and exciting ways to deliver the best education for your children.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Report a Glow concern
Cookie policy  Privacy policy

Glow Blogs uses cookies to enhance your experience on our service. By using this service or closing this message you consent to our use of those cookies. Please read our Cookie Policy.