Parent Council

Members of Campbeltown Grammar School Parent Council

Ms Darlene Russell (chair)
Mr Alistair Kenny (vice-chair)
Secretary (vacancy)
Mrs Lindsay Kenny (treasurer)
Mr Donald Barr
Ms Katrina Barr
Mr Craig Barrett
Ms Leanne Barrett
Mrs Susan Craig
Ms Sharon Renton
Ms Joanna Holbrook
Mrs Carol McEachran
Mrs Mhairi McMillan
Ms Susan McMillan

Parent Councils come under the Scottish Schools (Parental Involvement) Act 2006 which was brought into law to encourage and support more parents to become involved in their child’s education.

The main aims of the Act are to:-

♦  help parents become more involved with their child’s education and learning;

♦  welcome parents as active participants in the life of the school;

♦  provide easier ways for parents to express their views and wishes.

To help achieve these aims, all parents are automatically members of a Parent Forum at their child’s school and are entitled to have a say in what happens at the school.  As members of the Parent Forum, parents have a say in selecting the Parent Council (the representative body) who will work on behalf of all parents at the school.

The role of the Parent Council is to:-

♦  support the school in its work with pupils;

♦  represent the views of all parents;

♦  encourage links between the school, parents, pupils and the wider community;

♦  report back to the Parent Forum.

For more information about parents as partners in children’s learning, please contact the school or Community Services Education (01369 708 5226) or visit the Parentzone website at

Inspiring Achievement

Report a Glow concern
Cookie policy  Privacy policy

Glow Blogs uses cookies to enhance your experience on our service. By using this service or closing this message you consent to our use of those cookies. Please read our Cookie Policy.