You can keep up to date with what's happening at Lesmahagow High School through our:

#### School website:



http://www.lesmahagow.s-lanark.sch.uk/

#### Twitter:



## Or by visiting us!



## **Times of School Day**

### **Monday to Thursday:**

- 8.40-8.50 am Tutor Time
- 8.50-9.40 am —Period 1
- 9.40-10.30 am —Period 2
- 10.30-11.35 am —Period 3 and interval\*
- 11.35-12.25 pm —Period 4
- 12.25-1.15 pm —Period 5
- 1.55-2.45 pm —Period 6
- 2.45-3.35 pm —Period 7

## Friday:

- 8.40-8.50 am Tutor Time
- 8.50-9.40 am —Period 1
- 9.40-10.30 am —Period 2
- 10.30-11.40 am—Period 3 and interval\*
- 11.40-12.30 pm—Period 4

\*Interval—15 minutes at the start of period 3 for S4-6 pupils; 15 minutes at the end of period 3 for S1-S3 pupils. Lunch time is from 1.55 pm —1.55 pm.

Lesmahagow High School Strathaven Road Lesmahagow South Lanarkshire ML11 0FS

Tell: 01555-896010 Fax: 01555-986011

Email:

office@lesmahagow.s-lanark.sch.uk





# Lesmahagow High School

# Welcome Leaflet



Welcome to Lesmahagow High School!

**Shared Values:** Commitment, Ambition, Resilience and Equity

Vision: Together we Learn; Together we

Achieve; Together we Succeed.

## **Our School**

Lesmahagow High School is a co-educational non-denominational six year comprehensive school with an Inclusion Support provision linked to South Lanarkshire Council and has a current roll of 644 pupils. Our school serves the villages of Coalburn, Lesmahagow, Kirkmuirhill, Blackwood and Auchenheath and surrounding hamlets.

Miss Barbara Lee is Head Teacher. Our Depute Head Teachers are: Mrs. Pamela Docherty, Mr. Alastair Grav. Mr. David Robertson (Child Protection Officer) and Mrs. Lesley-Anne Cimmino. Our Principal Teachers of Pupil Support are: Mr. Jim Mallaghan (Kerse House), Mrs. Linda Wright (Logan House), Miss Anna Fletcher (Milton House) and Miss Iasha Igbal (Acting). Mrs. Morag Storry and Mrs. Catherine Travis are our Principal Teachers of Support for Learning. Miss Sophie Leckenby is our Principal Teacher of Equity and Inclusion and Mrs. Shirley Miller is our Care Experienced Champion. Our Inclusion Support Team provide additional opportunities and resources to meet the needs of young people. Mrs. Rebecca Anderson is Principal Teacher of Inclusion.

Subject departments have been grouped into Faculties. Our Faculty Principal Teachers are: Mr. Marc Campbell (Technologies), Mrs Rhona Ritchie (Expressive Arts, Acting), Mrs. Aileen Mullen (Mathematics and Numeracy), Mrs. Catherine Anne McGuire (Science), Ms. Louise Parsons (Languages and Literacy), Mr. Neil Ross (Health and Wellbeing) and Mrs. Gemma Smith (Humanities).

At the reception desk you will be greeted by our office staff: Mrs. Mairi Mitchell, Mrs. Allison Barnes and Mrs. Barbara McFarlane. Our janitors are: Mrs. Joan Wardrop, Mrs. Lynn Miller and Mrs. Pauline Maxwell. Our Science Technician is Mrs. Janice Grierson and our AV Technician is Mr. David Dobb. Our Librarian is Mrs. Joanne Thomson.

# Our Pupils

Our Senior Pupil Leadership Team includes two School Captains, two Vice Captains, Attainment and Achievement, Health and Wellbeing and Inclusion and Equity Captains, House Captains and Vice Captains for Kerse, Logan and Milton and two Equity and Inclusion Captains. Our Junior Pupil Leadership Team of S3 pupils support our Captains and lead school initiatives. Our Pupil Council has representatives from each Tutor class and meets regularly throughout the year. We also have a wide range of extra curricular clubs and interest groups which meet at lunch-times and after school.

Pupils in S1-S3 study a Broad General Education, with opportunities for personalisation and choice in S3. In the Senior Phase, from S4-S6, pupils study seven National 3, 4, 5 courses and up to five Higher and Advanced Higher courses. Some of our pupils also attend college where they have the opportunity to study a range of vocational courses including hairdressing, beauty and construction through the Gradu8, Foundation Apprenticeship and Engineering Academy programmes.

The latest School Leavers' Destinations information shows that 98.81% of pupils at Lesmahagow High School achieved a positive destination when leaving school. In 2023, 44.06% of all leavers moved on to Higher Education, 22.62% pursued Further Education and 26.19% secured employment; a further % entered training courses. Some pupils benefitted from additional support from the Aspire team to make the transition from education to employment, training or further education. Mrs. Adele Duffy is our Careers Advisors, based near to

## Our School

the Reception Area.			
Wing A	Wing B		
Canteen	Music		
DHT (Mr Robert- Street Area son)	Head Teacher		
DHŤ (Mrs Do-	DHT (Mr Gray)		
cherty) Pupil Support Nurture Technical	School Office		
Inclusion Support Team	PE		
Ground Floor			
Library and Sup- port for Learning	Art		
Graphics Home Economics	ICT DHT (Mrs Cim- mino)		

## **First Floor**

English

**RMPS** 

Modern Lan- guages	Science

Connecting

bridge

Drama

Maths

ICT

Science

#### **Second Floor**

Humanities