# The Wimbledon Championships

Wimbledon is the world's oldest tennis tournament and is thought by many to be the most prestigious. Since 1877 it has been held at the All England Club in Wimbledon, London. It is one of the four Grand Slam tennis tournaments (majors), the others being the French Open, the Australian Open and the US Open. Wimbledon is the only major still played on traditional grass, the game's original surface, which gave the game its original name of 'lawn tennis'.



#### **Events**

The five main events are the gentlemen's singles, ladies' singles, gentlemen's doubles, ladies' doubles and mixed doubles.

There are also four junior events including the boys' and girls' singles and doubles matches.

In addition to this, there are invitation events where some former professionals return to compete. Wheelchair singles and doubles matches also take place.

### **Tickets**

The majority of centre court tickets are made available by a public ballot where applicants are selected at random by a computer. Due to the popularity of the event, the public ballot has always been oversubscribed. Fans without tickets can queue up overnight to get seats on match day.

# Schedule

Wimbledon takes place for two weeks in July. Usually, there is no play on the 'Middle Sunday', however bad weather has sometimes forced play on this day. The middle Sunday is classed as a rest day for the players.

# The Courts

The principal court, Centre Court, was opened in 1922. In 2009, a moving roof was added to this court which can be automatically closed.

The main courts, Centre Court and No. 1 Court, are generally only used for two weeks every year during the championships. The other 17 courts are used for other events hosted by the club.