Tag Archives: cricket

Scottish Girls Kwik Cricket

Those of you who have been following Portmoak’s cricket success over the last few years may not be surprised to hear that the 5 class school fielded an all girls cricket team for the first Scottish Girls Under 12 Kwik Cricket Competition on Sunday 26th August. Cricket Scotland hope to make this an annual event, as the day was a great success and much enjoyed by all who attended. The sun came out during the afternoon to make for ideal conditions in Doo’cot Park, Perth.

Portmoak girls faced some stiff competition on the day, as there were not many other school teams there, but mainly cricket clubs. In fact, we were the only school from Perth and Kinross who entered a girls team for the competition. There were 6 teams in total on the day, Watsonians Cricket Club, Kinross Cricket Club, Portmoak Primary School, Loretto, Arbroath United Cricket Club and Carlton Cricket Club. Everyone played the other 5 teams in a round robin format. There were several close defeats for the Portmoak team, who won one of their games. The overall winner was Kinross Cricket Club, proving that girls’ cricket is certainly going strong in the Kinross area!

Portmoak’s team were: Megan Brown, Krystyna Muzsynski, Megan Ferguson, Grace Cowie, Esme Allen, Sylvie McKenzie, Rebecca Mitchell, Eve Robertson, Lilly Spenke and Carla Spowart. All of the girls played brilliantly on the day and the whole school are really proud of them for taking on the best teams in Scottish Girls’ under 12 cricket.

Portmoak Cricket Success

Portmoak Primary have retained their title as Kinross-shire and Perth and Kinross Cricket Champions!

On 25th May there were 22 cricket teams from across the cluster who battled it out for the Kinross Kwik Cricket shield at Loch Leven Community Campus. The top 5 teams in the area made it through to the Perth and Kinross tournament The top 5 were 1. Portmoak Team 1, 2. Portmoak Team 2, 3. Arngask, 4. Portmoak Team 3, 5. Milnathort. Team 1 and 2 were unbeaten on the day. Team 3 won 4 games and drew their 5th.

Pictured: Kinross-shire Cricket Champions 2012 with Mr Surtees, Mr Law, Oliver Law and Gavin from the Gannochy Trust.

On 6th June all three teams travelled to Doo’cot Park in Perth to take part in the Perth and Kinross Regional tournament. This time there were less teams and everyone there were the winners of their local rounds. The competition was fierce, with the top three teams all winning every game they played. In the end it came down to the number of runs and Portmoak Team 1 came first. Breadalbane narrowly pipped Team 2 to the second spot and will join Team 1 at the Scottish Finals.

Pictured: Perth and Kinross 2012 Cricket Champions with Gavin from the Gannochy Trust and Kirsteen from Cricket Scotland.

Everyone at Portmoak is proud of the children’s achievement. This marks a second year that the 5 class school have come top of the Kinross area and held the title of Perth and Kinross champions. We are looking forward to the Scottish finals on 19th June and will be taking a travelling support with us again in the hopes that we can also clinch the ‘Top Support’ award again too.

School Team of the Year?

Nomination for Perth and Kinross Sports Council School Team of the Year 2011

Following their success in June 2011, Portmoak’s school cricket team is one of three teams being considered for the Perth and Kinross Sports Council School Team of the Year 2011. The awards dinner is on the 29th March 2012 at the Salutation Hotel, so watch this space!

Update after the event: Portmoak did not win the ‘Team of the Year’ title, however that does nothing to diminish the success of the players and coaches in getting so far.

We were delighted to be crowned Kinross-shire champions for the 2nd year in May 2012, which was followed up by winning the Perth and Kinross trophy (again 2nd time running) in June 2012.

At the Scottish finals we were, once more, knocked out of the competition  by the overall winners.