Portmoak Cricket Success

Portmoak Primary have retained their title as Kinross-shire and Perth and Kinross Cricket Champions!

On 25th May there were 22 cricket teams from across the cluster who battled it out for the Kinross Kwik Cricket shield at Loch Leven Community Campus. The top 5 teams in the area made it through to the Perth and Kinross tournament The top 5 were 1. Portmoak Team 1, 2. Portmoak Team 2, 3. Arngask, 4. Portmoak Team 3, 5. Milnathort. Team 1 and 2 were unbeaten on the day. Team 3 won 4 games and drew their 5th.

Pictured: Kinross-shire Cricket Champions 2012 with Mr Surtees, Mr Law, Oliver Law and Gavin from the Gannochy Trust.

On 6th June all three teams travelled to Doo’cot Park in Perth to take part in the Perth and Kinross Regional tournament. This time there were less teams and everyone there were the winners of their local rounds. The competition was fierce, with the top three teams all winning every game they played. In the end it came down to the number of runs and Portmoak Team 1 came first. Breadalbane narrowly pipped Team 2 to the second spot and will join Team 1 at the Scottish Finals.

Pictured: Perth and Kinross 2012 Cricket Champions with Gavin from the Gannochy Trust and Kirsteen from Cricket Scotland.

Everyone at Portmoak is proud of the children’s achievement. This marks a second year that the 5 class school have come top of the Kinross area and held the title of Perth and Kinross champions. We are looking forward to the Scottish finals on 19th June and will be taking a travelling support with us again in the hopes that we can also clinch the ‘Top Support’ award again too.