Curriculum for Excellence

Every child and young person in Scotland is entitled to experience a broad general education. This broad general education takes place from the early years to the end of S3, and is represented by learning across all of the experiences and outcomes, as far as is consistent with each child or young person’s needs.

What are experiences and outcomes?

The title ‘experiences and outcomes’ recognises the importance of the quality and nature of the learning experience in developing attributes and capabilities and in achieving active engagement, motivation and depth of learning. An outcome represents what is to be achieved.

The experiences and outcomes are set out in lines of development which describe progress in learning. They are organised into the eight curriculum areas:

Expressive arts

Health and wellbeing



Religious and moral education


Social studies


 Click this link to see all of the Experiences and Outcomes.



Curriculum for Excellence defines five levels of learning. The first four levels are described in the experiences and outcomes, with progression to qualifications described under a fifth level, the senior phase.

The path most children and young people are expected to follow through the levels reflects the stages of maturation of children and young people and the changing ways in which they engage with learning as they develop.

Some children and young people will start learning at these levels earlier and others later, depending upon individual needs and aptitudes. The framework is however designed to be flexible in order to permit careful planning for those with additional support needs, including those who, for example, have a learning difficulty and those who are particularly able or talented.




The pre-school years and P1, or later for some.


To the end of P4, but earlier or later for some.


To the end of P7, but earlier or later for some.

Third and Fourth

S1 to S3, but earlier for some. The fourth level broadly equates to Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework level 4.

The fourth level experiences and outcomes are intended to provide possibilities for choice and young people’s programmes will not include all of the fourth level outcomes.

Senior phase

S4 to S6, and college or other means of study.



Perth & Kinross Council has developed indicators which are used to indicate what children have learned with regard to literacy and numeracy by the end of each level.  The indicators for nursery and primary age children can be viewed by clicking the links below.

Early Level Indicators

First Level Indicators

Second Level Indicators


What is Curriculum for Excellence?  Click this link to find out all about Curriculum for Excellence on the Education Scotland website.

Report a Glow concern  Cookie policy  Privacy policy

Glow Blogs uses cookies to enhance your experience on our service. By using this service or closing this message you consent to our use of those cookies. Please read our Cookie Policy.