Curriculum for Excellence

What is Curriculum for Excellence?

‘A Curriculum for Excellence’ aims to achieve a transformation in education in Scotland by providing an improved, more flexible and enriched curriculum for all children and young people from 3 – 18. The curriculum includes all of the experiences, which are planned for children and young people through their education, wherever they are being educated. All schools and nurseries in North Lanarkshire are working hard to raise standards so that children and young people will develop all of the skills necessary to continue to be successful when leaving school and entering the world of higher education, training or work.

Curriculum for Excellence is underpinned by the values inscribed on the mace of the Scottish Parliament – wisdom, justice, compassion and integrity. The purpose of Curriculum for Excellence is encapsulated in the four capacities – to enable each child or young person to be a successful learner, a confident individual, a responsible citizen and an effective contributor.

What are the curriculum areas in Curriculum for Excellence?

There are eight curricular areas:

  • Expressive Arts
  • Health and Well Being
  • Languages (Literacy)
  • Mathematics (Numeracy)
  • Religious and Moral Education
  • Sciences
  • Technologies
  • Social Studies

Literacy and numeracy are given added importance because these skills are so vital in everyday life. All teachers will have responsibility to teach literacy and numeracy.

Learning is divided into levels. The levels are as follows:

  • Early: the pre-school years and P1 or later for some.
  • First:  to the end of P4 but earlier or later for some.
  • Second:  to the end of P7, but earlier or later for some.
  • Third/Fourth:  S1-S3, but earlier for some.

Find out more about the Curriculum for Excellence on the Education Scotland website.