Innovation Papers Competition

Transport Scotland launched the Academy9 Innovation Papers Competition in September 2018, with the aim of raising awareness and inspiring innovation across the field of STEM, and to celebrate the Year of Young People.

Some of the benefits for entrants were:

  • Professional recognition across a wide network of professionals and organisations
  • Recognition of their contribution to driving forward best practice
  • Professional development
  • Opportunity to inspire the future generation in STEM-related professions
  • Opportunity to promote the industry they are working in.

Each of the 30 entrants submitted a paper highlighting an example of innovation from a project they were professionally involved in. Entrants, from a wide range of professional areas, were asked to submit papers in areas such as a new idea, or a smarter, fairer, healthier, greener or safer way of doing the job.

Judging took place in December 2018 and four category winners were selected. Many of the entries were of a very high quality and the judges also chose some to be given highly commended recognition.

Following the judging, competition winners were invited to submit a full paper, each of which is available to view below. Video presentations have also been made for each winning entry. It is hoped that these papers and presentations will inspire young people who will be attending the Academy9 Conference, highlighting to them the creativity experienced while working in STEM careers.

Winning entries:

Safety and Wellbeing: Michael Lancaster, Jacobs

View and read the winning paper by clicking here

Sustainability: Anna Rutherford, Jacobs

View and read the winning paper by clicking here

Technical Innovation: Lee Armer, Jacobs

View and read the winning paper by clicking here

Working with Communities and Young People: Shona McBride, Mackenzie Construction

View and read the winning paper by clicking here

Highly commended entries:

Safety and Wellbeing

  • Naomi Hood, Adjuvo Group
  • Steven Czuprynski, Fairhurst


  • Lee Armer, Jacobs

Technical Innovation

  • Michael Lancaster, Jacobs
  • Marc Hunter, Sweco

Working with Communities and Young People

  • Alan Blair, Jacobs
  • Nicola Gooch, Morgan Sindall

Competition judges:

  • Andy Anderson, A9 Design Manager, Transport Scotland
  • Fiona Bradley, Head of Civil Engineering, University of Glasgow
  • Dr. Neil Ferguson, Senior Lecturer, University of Strathclyde
  • Prof. John Lennon, Dean of Glasgow School for Business and Society, Glasgow Caledonian University