Category Archives: Ethos

Visit from Executive Director of Education & Children’s Services

We welcomed Carrie Lindsay, Executive Director of Education & Children’s Services, to the school last week.  Ms Lindsay met with pupils and was given a tour of the school by members of our Captains Team, Megan and Robert.

Ms Lindsay also took the opportunity to welcome Ms Penrose to the school.  Remarking on Twitter about her visit, Ms Lindsay said, “Robert and Megan showed me round the school.  A real credit to their school.  Lots of great opportunities at Bell Baxter”.

‘Thank you’ to Ms Lindsay for taking the time out of her busy schedule to visit the school.

Positive relationships in Bell Baxter

Following some additional development, the Bell Baxter Positive Relationships Policy was launched this week.  The Rector, Ms Penrose, held a full staff meeting and assemblies with all year groups to clearly explain the updated policy.  The three visuals – “Restorative consequences”, “A restorative classroom” and “Respect in Bell Baxter” – to support the policy will be displayed in every teaching area within the school.

The updated policy will help to build upon the culture of respect, restorative practice and positive relationships that already exists in our school community.

Restorative consequences
A restorative classroom
RESPECT in Bell Baxter

Cambodia & Vietnam expedition, 2020

Following on from the success of this summer’s expedition to Borneo, the school is now in a position to offer pupils the opportunity to participate in an expedition to Cambodia and Vietnam in 2020.  This expedition is open to pupils in S3-S5.

The expedition will run over 4 weeks with the pupils choosing the activities they’d like to undertake as part of their expedition.  The expedition consists of four phases – the acclimatisation, trekking, R & R and project.  While in-country, pupils will be responsible for booking accommodation, sourcing transport, shopping in local markets, managing the budget and cooking/organising their team’s meals.  When we say it is the pupils’ expedition, that’s exactly what we mean!

We intend to hold a Parents’ Information Evening in the Assembly Hall at 6pm on Monday, 1st October.  Anyone interested in this opportunity is cordially invited to attend this meeting – remember, at this stage, the meeting is for information only.

If you’d like to see the type of experiences which our pupils get when they sign up for the expedition, please check out the Facebook page from this summer’s expedition: search for Bell Baxter HS Borneo Expedition.

If you are unable to make the event on the 1st October, please contact Miss Doig or Mrs Kidson directly for further information.

Borneo expedition

We welcomed the Borneo expedition pupils and staff home on Saturday afternoon following their 4 week expedition.

Special ‘thanks’ go to the staff – Miss Doig, Mrs Kidson, Mrs McKeown, Ms Bateman, Miss McBride and Miss Oman – for their dedication over the last two years to ensure that our pupils were able to participate in this fantastic opportunity.

Please check out the “Bell Baxter HS Borneo Expedition” Facebook page to see what the teams got up to during the 4 weeks.

Current S3-S5 pupils will have the opportunity to take part in the 2020 expedition to Cambodia and Vietnam.
More information to follow.

'I am being prepared for life' (Ad vitam paror)

Report a Glow concern  Cookie policy  Privacy policy

Glow Blogs uses cookies to enhance your experience on our service. By using this service or closing this message you consent to our use of those cookies. Please read our Cookie Policy.