Meet Emma

Hi everyone.  My name is Emma.  I am 34 and I live in Busby. I stay right next to Cart Mill so it’s easy for me to walk to work each day. I’ve just joined the team at Cart Mill in February. I’m looking forward to going back and getting to know everyone again when it’s safe and lock down is over. I’ve still been working in the hub so it’s been nice getting to see some of the children and staff.

Ive been working in nurseries since I was 16. Last year I finished my Childhood Practice Degree and got to graduate.  Although I had very big heels on my shoes and had to cross a big stage to collect my certificate without falling over. My degree took four years of going to uni each Tuesday night while still working in nursery full time. This always resulted in me leaving all my homework and assessment to to the last minute.

I love to read books. When I was little I used to love to go to Busby library and choose books to take home. My favourites used to be called “the baby sitters club”  this could be where I got the inspiration to follow a career in childcare from. I used to want to be a writer and would always make up my own books. Even now in nursery I enjoy creating new stories and making up new songs.

I have 3 pets in my house. I have Draco and Lola my two cats. They love to get lots of attention . They both fight over who gets to sit in their favourite spot on the windowsill.  I also have my dog Olly. He is a Lhasa Apso and is 7.  He is like my shadow and follows me every where I go, he even likes to sleep beside me at night.  He is a bit cheeky and likes to chase the cats, which makes the cats very cross.

Olly has very long hair and needs to see a dog groomer to get cut so he doesn’t get too hot. Because he can’t see one just now I had to give him a DIY haircut but a dog groomer I am not and have left him looking a little patchy. Hopefully he can get it fixed soon.  I also am looking forward to seeing the hairdressers because my hair is beginning to change colour at the top.

I also live my my Son Ryan. He has just had his 18th birthday in lockdown. But we still managed to have a good day celebrating with lots of cake and juice. He is looking forward to seeing all his friends again and celebrating with them.  Ryan has been enjoying his time off school and has been playing lots of games on his PlayStation but sometimes he’s gets a little row for being too grumpy when he doesn’t win his football game.

I love the sunshine and going on sunny holidays. My favourite place to go is Cyprus. I love to sit on the beach with my eyes closed and listen to the sounds of the sea.  It makes me feel calm and happy. When I’m not working in the hub or doing my work from home I like to take the olly dog his walks, sometimes  Draco cat comes too. I also like to sit in the sun in the garden but am silly and sometimes forget my sun cream and end up looking a little bit like a lobster. Hope you all remember to wear suncream on hot days.

Really missing being at nursery and can’t wait to get back and see you all. Take care love Emma x