Scottish National Standardised Assessments (SNSA) 

The Scottish National Standardised Assessments (SNSA) are now available to schools and local authorities. Over 1000 have already been taken and selected pupils have taken part in the norming study to provide the Scottish Government with feedback on the process.

The main purpose of the assessments is to provide information for teachers on how well children are doing in literacy and numeracy and to help guide learning and teaching. The assessments are also designed to produce national-level information about children and young people’s progress for Scottish Government. The national information covers the whole of Scotland.

All Scottish children and young people in Primary 1, Primary 4, Primary 7 and Secondary 3 will take online assessments within a specified time period decided by the authority. East Renfrewshire Council will complete these assessments over the next 6 weeks.

As a parent/carer of a child or young person within one of the target year groups, I am writing to you to provide you with the information about the process.

The Process
Members of the leadership team and class teachers will support classes to access the online assessments. P1 pupils will sit two SNSA assessments: one in literacy and one in numeracy.  P4 and P7 pupils will take 3 SNSA assessments: one in reading, one in writing and one in numeracy.  Each assessment will last approximately 45 minutes.  Your child will take the assessments in their class as part of their everyday school work.

Further information about the Scottish National Standardised Assessments is available online through the SNSA website or you can contact the school.

(April 2018)


Report a Glow concern
Cookie policy  Privacy policy

Glow Blogs uses cookies to enhance your experience on our service. By using this service or closing this message you consent to our use of those cookies. Please read our Cookie Policy.