Within the National 4 and 5 Physics curriculum, there are three units:

  • Waves and Radiation
  • Electricity and Energy
  • Dynamics and Space

The National 4 Physics Course enables learners to develop the ability to solve problems and establish relationships in physics by acquiring a broad knowledge base, practical skills and basic mathematical skills.

The National 5 Physics Course enables learners to develop a deeper understanding of physics concepts and the ability to describe and interpret physical phenomena using mathematical skills.

If pupils choose to take on Physics at a higher level, they will cover the following units:

  • Our Dynamic Universe
  • Electricity
  • Particles and Waves

The Higher Physics Course develops learners’ curiosity, interest and enthusiasm for physics in a range of contexts. The skills of scientific inquiry and investigation are developed throughout the Course, and the relevance of physics is highlighted by the study of the applications of physics in everyday contexts.

In S6, pupils have the option to choose Advanced higher physics. This course is demanding and covers the following units:

  • Rotational Motion and Astrophysics
  • Electromagnetism
  • Quanta and Waves

The Advanced Higher Physics Course enables learners to build on the knowledge and skills developed in the Higher Physics Course and to use their mathematical knowledge and skills to analyse and solve problems in real-life contexts. Through a deeper insight into the structure of the subject, the Course reinforces and extends knowledge and understanding of the concepts of physics and develops skills in investigative practical work.


Report a Glow concern
Cookie policy  Privacy policy

Glow Blogs uses cookies to enhance your experience on our service. By using this service or closing this message you consent to our use of those cookies. Please read our Cookie Policy.