KILMARNOCK ACADEMY

PRIZEGIVING 2016



KILMARNOCK ACADEMY

PRIZEGIVING CEREMONY

Tuesday 14TH JUNE 2016

ORDER OF CEREMONY

Musical Item - Jazz Band - Watermelon Man

Welcome and Introduction 1. Mr D Howie Mr D Rose 2. Head teacher's Report Musical Item: Sax Quartet: Treasure 3. 4. **Guest Speaker** Right Rev Dr Russell Barr Right Rev Dr Russell Barr 5. Presentation of Prizes Musical Item: Jazz band: September 6. 7. Vote of thanks **Heather Taylor** Jordan Muir

Rev McNaughtan

8.

Benediction

KILMARNOCK ACADEMY

Arrangements for Prizegiving Ceremony – 14th June 2016

The ceremony will be held in the Assembly Hall on Tuesday 14th June 2016 at 7.00pm.

TIMETABLE.

6.30 pm Prizewinners will assemble in the hall wearing school uniform and will take the seats

allocated to them at the rehearsal. They will be under direction of Mrs Mossie,

Mrs Dunsmuir and Mrs Moodie.

6.30 pm Platform party is asked to assemble in the School Library by 6.30 pm.

7.00 pm Platform party will enter the Assembly Hall, and pupils are requested to stand while

the party assembles on the stage. Everyone will remain standing until the platform

party sits.

Staff Duties.

Master of Ceremonies Mr Howie

Marshalls in Assembly Hall Mrs Dunsmuir and Mrs Moodie

Reading of Prize List Mrs Walker

Arrangement of Prizes Mrs Armstrong and Mrs Mossie

Reception of guests Mr Rose

Certificate of Excellence

Each subject identifies the top achieving pupils in merit order. Depending on the year group Certificate of Excellence is awarded. A similar model applies for Progress and Endeavour.

KILMARNOCK ACADEMY SESSION 2015/2016 GENERAL MERIT LIST

Certificate winners are arranged in alphabetical order.

FIRST YEAR

Certificates	٥f	Dictinction
Certificates	OL	Distinction

Skye Aitchison	Kerry Gibson	Emma Kavanagh	Billie Ross
Bailey Douglas	Mia Hay	Taylor McIntyre	Ewan Rutherford
Callan Duncan	Erin Hogan	Paige Nelson	Rowan Taylor
Niamh Firth	Laura Johnstone	Freddie Richardson	Amy Wilson

SECOND YEAR

Certificates of Distinction

Morgan Allan	Murray Dixon	Owen Mirfin	Billie Rawson
McKenzie Alston	Robyn Docherty	Louise Muirhead	Amy Wallace
Erin Arthur	Euan Handling	Charlotte Murray	Ben Watson
Rachel Britten	Cameron Maxwell	Ewan Parker	Ruby Whitaker
Nicole Bulloch	Abigail McCartney	Jamie Pearson	Daniel Wood
Leila Corniglion	Morgan McCreadie	Cameron Phillips	

THIRD YEAR

Certificates of Distinction

Jennifer Carey	Adam Green	Samantha McCutcheon	Rowan Sivewright
Megan Denim	Kyle Herbert	Jamie McKinnon	Aimie Sockell
Dylan Dickson	Greg Hillan	Abby Meek	Emma Speirs
Megan Donnelly	Heather Kelly	Reuben Neilson-Bell	Ellen Taylor
Jodie Fulton	Priya Lalli	Rhona Ogilvie	Hannah Taylor
Caitlin Gebbie	Claire Lindsay	Amy Louise Richardson	Morgan Walley

FOURTH YEAR

Certificates of Distinction

Cameron Brown	Abby Hopes	Adam Muirhead	Bruce Templeton
Jack Campbell	Taylor Johnston	Jack Park	Jessica Thomson
Abbie Connell	Bethany Lennox	Lauryn Russell	Sean Wallace
Ewan Darby	Alex McCartney	Ali Saleem	Reece Williamson
Craig Denim	David Millar	Grant Semple	Grant Wilson
Keir Duncan	Erin Mowat	Jennie Shearin	

FIFTH YEAR

Certificates of Distinction

Kim Law	Matthew McCutcheon	Erin Muir
Nicola Linton	Morgan McDonnell	Corrie Speirs
Jessica McCrum	Laura Millar	Ethan Tesfaye

SIXTH YEAR

Certificates of Distinction

Blair Kirkland	Jordan Muir	Heather Taylor
Elana McEwan	Nicholas Murray	Gemma Wallace

CERTIFICATES FOR PERFECT ATTENDANCE SESSION 2015/2016

<u>S1</u>

Rebecca Bell Kerry Gibson Rebecca Lawlor Caitlin Richmond
Zack Bell Mia Hay Andrew Maxwell Ewan Rutherford
Jack Brown Ellie Johnstone Gillian Miller Lauren Thorburn
Callan Duncan Emily Lawlor Dominika Polonowska

<u>S2</u>

Euan Handling Chloe Scott Ben Watson Ruby Whitaker

<u>S3</u>

Megan Denim Adam Green Gemma Sweenie Ellen Taylor Kevin Ferguson

<u>S4</u>

Derryn Balmer Ewan Darby Lewis Givens Adam Muirhead Kris Cairns Keir Duncan Abby Hopes Jack Park

<u>S5</u>

Abbeygale Bell Kim Law Courtney Steel Callum Gibson Ty O'Donnell Ryan Yildirim

<u>S6</u>

Robyn McGhee Jason Phillips Kyle Sweenie Jordan Muir Nicole Stirling

Perfect Attendance in Kilmarnock Academy

Jordan Muir

Six Years of Perfect Attendance

Jason Phillips and Kyle Sweenie

SPORTS TROPHIES

Golf Cup Jamie McKinnon

<u>Kilmarnock Round Table Trophy (1st year girls)</u>

Gillian Miller

<u>Kilmarnock Round Table Trophy (1st year boys)</u>

Taylor McIntyre

Mary P Colman Cup (2nd year girls)

McKenzie Alston

Halliday Cup (2nd year boys) Ethan Wyper

<u>Turner Cup</u> Jamie McKinnon

Morton Trophy Ellen Taylor

<u>Eric Clark Cup</u> Morgan Logan

Copland Cup Reece Miller

<u>Cameron Sharp Trophy</u>

Jennifer Carey

Boyd Cup (Junior House Trophy) Fleming House

Representative Ethan Wyper

David Isaacs Cup

(Senior House Trophy for Athletic Activities) Scott House

Representative Reece Miller

SPECIAL AWARDS 2015/2016

<u>Class of 71 Prize for Progress and Endeavour</u> Class 1: Toni Marie Reid

Class 2: Lara Henriques

Rice Prize for Progress and Endeavour Class 3: Caitlin Gebbie

Louise Hilton

Class 4: William Bell

Middleton Prize for Progress and Effort Dominika Polonowska

Scottish Temperance Alliance Essay Competition Amy Richardson

Kilmarnock 400 Shield Jamie McKinnon

Kilmarnock College Trophy Reanna Watt

<u>Speirs Prizes for Mathematics</u> Class 1 - 1st Rebecca Bell

2nd Taylor McIntyre

Class 2 - 1st Cameron Phillips

2nd Ewan Parker

Class 3 - 1st Jennifer Carey 2nd Rowan Sivewright

Class 4 - 1st Grant Semple

2nd Jennie Shearin

Class 5 - 1st Matthew McCutcheon

2nd Ethan Tesfaye

Class 6 – 1st Heather Taylor

<u>The Probus Club of Kilmarnock – Sandy Park Award</u>
David MIllar

CG Spiller Prize for French Eilidh Raeburn

SUBJECT PRIZES 2015/2016

Johnnie Walker Prize for Modern Studies Ross Laird

Johnnie Walker Prize for English Laura Millar

<u>Johnnie Walker Prize for Geography</u>

Laura Millar

<u>Johnnie Walker Prize for History</u>

Corrie Speirs

<u>Caledonian University Prize for Dux of Science</u> Erin Muir

George Banks Prize for Science Nicola Linton

Erin Muir

Kilmarnock Philosophical Institute Prize in Science Heather Taylor

<u>Sir Alexander Fleming Award</u>
Nicola Linton

<u>Dunlop Prize for Art</u> Kim Law

Sam Ferguson Aeolian Music Prize Regan Kelly

A.C Livingston Prize for Graphic Communication Liam Waddell

Young Designer of the Year Award

The Furniture Makers Company Adam Muirhead

Kilmarnock Rotary Prizes for Service and Leadership Heather Taylor

Jordan Muir

Horizon Pages

Stuart McDonald Memorial Trophy Robyn McGhee

Klin Award for Enterprise Horizon Pages

David Gibson, Robyn McGhee, Jordan Muir and Heather Taylor

Young Enterprise Scotland Award:

Best Report

Best Marketing

Best Presentation

Best Innovation

Best Interview

Overall Winner

KILMARNOCK ACADEMY DUX PRIZES 2015/2016

Frank Donnelly Prize for Dux of First Year Ewan Rutherford

Johnnie Walker Prize Dux of Second Year McKenzie Alston

Morton Stephen Prize for Dux of Third Year Ellen Taylor

Boyd Orr Prize for Dux of Fourth Year Abby Hopes

Bryan Paterson Prize for Dux of Fifth Year Nicola Linton

Matthew McCutcheon