The Curriculum

An explanatory Guide for Parents is accessible via this link CfE Guide for Parents 2014-15 and in the Curriculum for Excellence section under the Parents Area tab.

The Academy has now introduced the two main stages of the Curriculum for Excellence.  This comprises of the Broad General Education for S1 – S3 and Senior phase for pupils in S4 – S6.  S4 pupils are now following the new National Qualifications for presentation at the appropriate level.  New qualifications will be in place for pupils in S4 from 2014.

Broad General Education S1-S3

leading to:


leading to:

Senior Phase S4-S6 and Certification

Students in S4 generally follow six certificated subject – all pupils study English and Maths in S4 and four other certificated subjects in line with their choices made towards the end of S3.  They also follow RME, PSE and PE as part of their core curriculum.

NESCOL Link Course (Senior Phase only)

Link courses are available to pupils in the Senior Phase.  These courses are normally run on a Wednesday.   The link below provides more information about the courses NESCOL offer.


Implemented using Glow Blogs

Report a Glow concern
Cookie policy  Privacy policy

Glow Blogs uses cookies to enhance your experience on our service. By using this service or closing this message you consent to our use of those cookies. Please read our Cookie Policy.